My Yarny Year In Review, 2016

Happy New Year! It is almost the one-year anniversary of when I started crocheting as a hobby. I have dabbled with yarn crafts in the past with a crocheted baby blanket here and a knit garter stitch scarf there, but about one year ago I really got into the hobby with great glee and abandon.

While registering one of my children up for a class at the local Community Education, I noticed an upcoming crochet class. I signed up on a whim. The class turned out to be more of a drop-in crochet group than an actual class, with a master crocheter and her friend as ringleaders. I got started on a V-stitch cowl on that first day and then just took off running. I’m not sure the class ran for the second part of the year (the friend moved to Florida), but I noticed it in the last Community Ed catalog and I signed up again just for fun — it starts next week.

Also in the last year, a local yarn store, Island Yarn, opened up just 10 minutes from my house. I’ll talk more about that in my 2017 Intentions post.

In the last year I’ve made:

8 Blankets

Screen Shot 2017-01-24 at 3.02.44 PM.png

8 Scarfs / Cowls

screen-shot-2017-01-24-at-2-59-56-pm

4 Hats

Screen Shot 2017-01-24 at 3.01.17 PM.png

And 5 Other Miscellaneous Things

Screen Shot 2017-01-24 at 3.05.57 PM.png

I am crossing over to a new year with 6 WIPs (works-in-progress) – 5 blankets and 1 mandala wallhanging, but I’ll leave those to a 2017 Intentions post since now they are next year’s problem!

My favorite project from this past year was K’s Crocheted Quilt that I made for her dorm room. It turned out to be a bit large for that purpose, but it was a lot of fun to design and make. I also really enjoyed my first Crochet A-Long, which was Whispers from the Past by Helen Shrimpton. I’ll definitely be making more of Helen’s patterns in the future! Finally, the Shin-yu Infinity Scarf that I made for my sister, from a pattern by ChiChi Allen, was a total pleasure to make and I already have plans to make several more.

Leave a Reply

