July 2017 Recap

I do love summer! Too much crocheting got done and not enough of some other things, but it’s so nice to sit out on my front porch in the morning, sipping coffee and stitching, and then later in the evening in my little crochet corner in the family room. Our crochet class has been meeting, though the final meeting of this session will be next week. The teacher, Frieda, makes the most beautiful projects using mostly thread. Can you believe this queen-size bedspread she made?!

I’ve decided I have to make something with thread this year in her honor and I think I’ll start with some snowflakes for my window for next winter. I’ve created a Ravelry Bundle of snowflake patterns but it’s too summery to think about snowflakes now!

Finished Objects

Shin-yu Infinity Scarf for !Me

IMG_4998IMG_5010

This is the fourth one I’ve made of this terrific pattern! When I finished it, C said she loved the colors so of course I gave it to her. (I added the ‘!’ to the project name because in computer programming-speak, ! means “not”. Yes, I am a nerd.) So, of course, I added another one to my queue, this time with some green/blue/burgundy sock yarn that should be interesting. I really like the size of this one so I’ll start with the same number of stitches.

Scrappy Hydrangea Blanket

IMG_5032

I’m very happy with how this blanket came out! This is another wonderful design from Lucy of Attic24. I used Stylecraft Special DK from my stash, so my version has many different colors than Lucy’s Hydrangea Stripe Blanket, but still quite similar. It is a very snuggly blanket.

Sweet Caroline Mini CAL

Helen Shrimpton announced this mini Crochet-A-Long a week into July and I knew I had to do it. I decided to hold off on starting my Grandma Nora blanket and do this one instead, not just so I didn’t start too much in July, but also because I realized I should wait to do GrandmaN until I finished some other aran-weight yarn projects since it’s going to be a scrappy blanket and then I’ll have more scraps. 🙂 I also knew this CAL would be quicker than GrandmaN, which would give me more time to finish the gift blankets for my Mom and two sisters which I’ll need if I’m going to get them done in time for their birthdays (in November, December, and January).

This was a super fun pattern! I used more of the Paint Box yarn pack (from Helen’s Whispers from the Past CAL) that I used for my Whispers Around the Bases blanket. Eventually, I plan to add rounds 9-16 of Around the Bases to this Sweet Caroline square to make a second baby blanket, since I only did 1-8 on the first one to get to the size I wanted.

Screen Shot 2017-08-01 at 10.27.33 AM.png

New Projects

Lucy Project Bag

This is another project I hadn’t planned on but decided to start in July. This bag features in many of Lucy of Attic24’s blog posts because it’s her main project bag — able to hold a blanket’s worth of yarn in style. I was looking at the crazy colors of my 100% cotton stash (that I bought to make mandalas with) and realized it would be great for making one of these bags. I’m going to make mine very similar to Lucy’s just because I am a fangirl.

Works In Progress

Stardust Melodies CAL

I have been successfully keeping up with this CAL and it is almost finished. Another three weeks and this blanket should be done. I’m really looking forward to seeing what Polly has in mind for the border! I decided to combine the two blankets into one big one for my nephew’s wedding present (after getting unanimous agreement in the Facebook group), so the two parts have been married. 🙂

Happypotamus

The Happypotamus is coming along slowly. I’ve finished the 12 hexagons and 2 octagons and I’ve started on the 26 pentagons. I need six pentagons then I can start joining the butt section to test the join-as-you-go technique and to make sure the yarn I bought for joining will work. I may try the pull-loop-through method I learned on the Stardust Melodies blanket since it is strong and flat.

Red Velvet Tunisian Entrelac

FullSizeRender-2

This blanket is also coming along slowly but surely. I am more than half done with the second (of four) cakes of yarn, starting round 12. I pick it up when I’m on the go or I need something mindless.

State of the Stash

Yarn

I did buy more yarn this month in spite of my intention not to. First I bought a bag of mill-end yarn at Michael’s (with a 40% off coupon) that looks like DK and is the right off-white to use to join my Happypotamus. But then yesterday I placed a LoveCrochet order for 30 (!) skeins of mostly Stylecraft Special DK. They were having a 25% off everything sale (and free shipping over $60) so I bought the colors for the Seaside Winter Blanket that I want to do for Sue, and while I was at it, added the other skeins that I already planned to buy for queued projects that were missing a few colors.

I have 14 queued blanket projects (with yarn all ready), enough for the next two years or so!

Goals for August, 2017

  1. Finish the Stardust Melodies CAL blanket and block it. (I’ve been skipping the blocking step lately on my blankets but this one really needs it!)
  2. Finish the Lucy Bag.
  3. Make progress on the Happypotamus.
  4. Make progress on the Red Velvet Tunisian Entrelac.
  5. Start the Rosslyn blanket for G (once the Lucy Bag is done, and use it as a project bag).
  6. Start the Delft blanket for Mom (do one hexagon to test out the pattern).
  7. Don’t buy any more yarn. No, really. This time I mean it!!

Not a goal for August, but a thought that I could do test squares/rows for various other blankets I have in my queue or favorites just for fun. I noticed some of my Ravelry friends do individual squares as projects, then eventually get around to making a project for the entire blanket when they get to the joining/border stage. I’d still want to have a couple of blanket projects that are my main focus, but it would be fun to work on a few more in the background just for variety and to test out the patterns/colors.

Leave a Reply

