Breaking Spring – Year of Projects Update #28

I worked on six projects this week and finished two, or maybe three depending on how you’re counting!

My first Finished Object (FO) this week was my Persuasion Shawl. This is a test crochet for Lori, who is LoriLouLou327 on Ravelry. I’m very happy with how it came out in this Angora Merino though it’s super huge and warm and I’m tempted to make a second in fingering so I could have a smaller/lighter one for the spring weather that’s moving in. Here is my lovely oldest daughter modeling it (you can click to make these bigger).

My second FO was my lovely younger daughter’s Tunisian Shawl. I decided the two tones ended up being a good thing and the “creative” change in stitch patterns for the final part was fine. (This shawl is supposed to be the stitch pattern under the kitty’s paws starting from where the light gray begins.)

I got C to model her shawl just now before they head back to UMass Amherst since Spring Break has, alas, come to an end.

My last “kind of” FO is/are three more dish cloths made from the 3rd through 6th pattern from the March Texture Madness CAL by Winding Road Crochet. I particularly liked the loop stitch, isn’t it cool? The pattern on the yellow one (Yarn Over Slip Stitch) would make an awesome ribbing on a hat or sweater, though I’d use a smaller hook for that purpose. K picked these colors since they’ll be dish cloths for her new apartment.

textures-cal-4-5-6

On to the Works in Progress, my first WIP was the fifth square from the 2019 Stash Busting CAL from The Unraveled Mitten. Quick and easy. I think I mentioned last week that my current plan is to make nine squares with two of the three colors of this yarn that I have, and then join and border with the third color. Then I’ll carry on with the remaining 15 squares of this CAL with a different (lighter weight) selection of yarn to make a second blanket.

2019-stashbusting-5

I also added several more Emma Squares to my pile and have finally figured out that I should be using my 2.75 mm Susan Bates hook. Some people are adamant about using either Bates or Boye, but this is an example where the Bates-style hook is much better suited to the yarn/pattern. I love my Clover Amour hooks, but the deeper throat and pointier tip of the Bates just makes for less splitting and keeps the loops on the hook better. There are 109 of these little 10g mini skeins of Scheepjes Catona (all the colors they make), so I don’t know if I’m going to make them all into these squares, or what I’ll do with them, but we’ll see! Right now I’m just having fun working these up.

emma-19

And, lastly, I added a few more squares to my Grandma Nora Scrapghan, so now I’ve got 1/4 of the squares done.

granny

Incoming

IMG_8417

I didn’t buy any yarn or patterns this week, though I did get some awesome “happy mail”! Liz, a.k.a. HighlandHeffalump, sent me 10 of these fabulous sea glass stitch markers all the way from Scotland. They remind me of the beaches of my childhood in Rhode Island and they are super light weight and functional as stitch markers. They are so pretty, though, that C (my youngest daughter) snitched one of the sets and converted some to earrings. Thanks again, Liz!

Upcoming

After K modeled the magenta shawl for me, she said, “I love this, it’s nice and squishy, but could you make me a shawl in a neutral color?” What is it about my girls and bright colors?! After consulting my stash (via Ravelry) and the shawls in my queue, she decided she’d like a Hotel of Bees Shawl in the Scheepjes Stone Washed I had bought a while ago.

It’s also time to get a bit more focused for the rest of the month and make some serious progress on my second Havana blanket. So, this is the plan for this coming week:

  1. Do pattern 3 (of 7) on the Havana.
  2. Make the final 3 dish cloths from the March Texture Madness CAL.
  3. Start the Hotel of Bees Shawl for K.
  4. Add a few more Emma and Granny squares as the mood strikes.

I have to put in a lot of hours at work this week, but I’m really looking forward to the crochet I’ll get to squeeze in when I can. I hope everyone has a great week. Happy yarning!

YOPP.S. This is an update for the Year of Projects blog-a-long group on Ravelry. At the beginning of the YOP year, starting on July 1 for most, participants make a list of goals for the coming year and then post weekly updates on their progress. You can see all my updates in my YOP1819 category here on my blog. Visit the Ravelry group to see posts from other participants and to find out how to join us.

 

5 thoughts on “Breaking Spring – Year of Projects Update #28”

  1. The Hotel of Bees shawl is gorgeous and the color she picked is so pretty. It will work out perfectly. She has a good eye for color and pattern matches. Your Tunisian shawl turned out 100% marvelous. I love the color variation even though it wasn’t a planned thing. It really did make it much more interesting in the end. The pattern on it is quite stunning. You are so good about working on all your projects each week. All those squares keep piling up and you are going to have lots of blankets in the end.

    If you read my update this week I talked about going to a knitting retreat. It would be the one held at UMass in Amherst this September!!!! I have never been to that area before so am really looking into going and experiencing that part of our country. My neighbors girls went to UMass too! They loved it there.

    Like

  2. Lovely projects, every one! Your mention of Hotel of Bees sent me looking at that again, and then I got lost in this designer’s other shawl patterns. I had no idea she had such pretty designs. I’ve favorited and WL’d her History of Trees shawl. If I can figure out what, from my stash, I can make that with, that pattern will be a present to myself. 🙂 You inspire me, Maria!

    Like

  3. What a beautiful shawl and so wonderfully modelled. I think your daughter’s idea of converting the progress keepers is a lovely one.

    Like

  4. I’m glad you like the stitch markers 😀. The shawls, like your daughters are beautiful. Grey isn’t really my colour, but I love those tones and it will go with everything. A busy and productive week. Seems weird Spring Break is over yet there’s snow in the pictures!

    Like

Leave a comment