2020, I’m through with you – Year of Projects week 24/52

Hello, yarnie friends! (Is it yarnie or yarny? I really don’t know.) I missed last week’s Year of Projects update unfortunately for a good reason — I broke my arm. So, not surprisingly, I’m going to keep this post short.

No interesting story — I just tripped over my dog. She was excited because I was getting my coat to take her for our daily walk and she was jumping around my feet. I backed into her as I was closing the closet and I landed wrong on my arm, causing an avulsion fracture. Fortunately, it was my non-dominant arm. Unfortunately, I need two arms to crochet.

So, no real progress to report for these last two weeks. I had gotten this far on the collar for my Up North Cardigan when I had to stop. They’re estimating 6-8 weeks for it to heal. šŸ˜¦ I’m particularly sad because I wanted to make a couple of amigurumis for my kids for Xmas (an Among Us crewmate and Baby Yoda). They’ll have to get IOUs.

Incoming

What I do have a lot to show this week is the incoming goodies from my Black Friday / Small Business Saturday spree. Here’s my haul from Knit Picks. Overall, I averaged 40% savings so I’m happy though I didn’t “need” any more yarn.

The four on the bottom came in a sock yarn grab bag and I’m really happy with them all. The Chroma on the top is for a cowl kit and the Alpaca Cloud for a hat kit. The Palette came in a set with some other non-yarny (non-yarnie?) goodies like a project bag, enamel pin, crochet hook, and the first two issues of their magazine (which looks very nice). And finally, the Stroll Tonal on the top left is 500g of 20g minis in greens, blues, and neutrals that I’m thinking of turning into a C2C Moss Stitch blanket.

And, speaking of minis, I’ve been enjoying opening my Vicki Brown Designs Yarn Advent.

They’re mostly very bright, spring-summer colors and I’m still looking for a good project to use them all together.

And, finally, I got the lovely skein of hand-dyed yarn from a local dyer, Dirty Water DyeWorks in the colorway Cornflower, on her Lucia base (which is 75/25 Merino/Nylon).

So, lots of retail therapy and unfortunately, some upcoming physical therapy. I like the former better!

I hope everyone is well and I look forward to when I can give a more interesting update.

~ Maria

P.S. This is an update for the Year of Projects blog-a-long group on Ravelry. At the beginning of the YOP year, starting on July 1 for most, participants make a list of goals for the coming year and then post weekly updates on their progress. Visit the Ravelry group to see posts from other participants and to find out how to join us.

6 thoughts on “2020, I’m through with you – Year of Projects week 24/52”

  1. Wow. So sorry to hear about your broken arm. Hope it fully heals so you can get back to what you want to do. Love you sharing your shopping spree. It is so fun to imagine all the projects you can make with the yarns.

    Like

  2. Oh no, I am sorry to hear about your arm and hope it repairs well and quickly so you can get back to your projects and using some new yarn. I never know whether to write Aunty or Auntie in my cards to my niece and nephew and seem to use them interchangeably, I think people do the same with yarny/yarnie.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, Maria…so sorry to hear about your arm and mostly about not being able to crochet for 6-8 weeks! That’s the really bad part along with the pain and the therapy. I love the stash that you got but now you can’t play with it. Well, maybe you can plan the coming year of projects? I love planning and your dominant hand is still good. You can watch Christmas movies and snack a lot or make Christmas cookies? I fell while walking a few weeks ago and I walk on the blacktop. I was so happy at age 71 that I didn’t break anything…in fact, I was amazed and so very grateful! I live alone so maybe God took pity on me! LOL! I had bruises everywhere but nothing broke! Take care and stay well. Enjoy your holidays!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am glad you have retail therapy to console yourself after your unfortunate fall. Take care. I know how frustrating it is not to be able to craft. The picture of your dog at the beginning of the blog is so cute. He looks upset that he caused you the fall. Poor thing both of you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment